Visited since 26/11/10
free counters
Visited times since Nov 30, 2010 (View My Stats)

The 36th Annual General Meeting of PAM Sabah Chapter was held on 06th August 2011, Saturday at 10.0am at the Chapter Mini Auditorium. The AGM was attended by 48 corporate and 5 graduate members.

Ar. Lim Koi Hoe who was appointed as Election Officer earlier on, requested to nominate 2 scrutineers to assist in vote counting. The floor then nominated Ar. William CK Ho and Ar. Ronald SK Tang.


The election of the Chapter Committee was conducted in accordance with the PAM Constitution and Bye-Law where no floor nomination is allowed. This AGM was both interesting and exciting as there are two contests; for the post of Chairman and Vice Chairman. There were four nominations received at the close of nominations at 12.30 pm on 16th July 2011.


Two nominations were from Ar. Lo Su Yin and Dr. Tan Jun Kwang for the post of Chairman and another two nominations were from Ar. Jebb Liew and Ar. Arnold Kwan for the post of Vice Chairman.


Counting of votes was done by the Election Officer, Ar. Lim Koi Hoe and assisted by his deputy election officer, Ar. Chin Yin Tet and the 2 scrutinizers appointed when the AGM commenced at 10.15am.


The result was announced by the Election Officer, Ar. Lim Koi Hoe after the tea-break at 11.30am. Ar. Lo Su Yin was declared as the elected Chairman 2011-2012 with 38 votes against Ar. Dr. Tan Jun Kwang who only garnered 31 votes. Ar. Jebb Liew was declared as the elected vice chairman with 37 votes against Ar. Arnold Kwan who only garnered 29 votes.


After much debate on the issues of the eligibility of Ar. Lawrence Chin as the nominated Hon Treasurer at the special chapter committee meeting held on 27 July 2011, the election officer’s final decision decided to declare Ar. Lawrence Chin as the elected Hon Treasurer. Ar. William CK Ho was returned unopposed for the post as Hon Secretary.


The 6 Chapter Committee members who were nominated and won un-contested were:-

1.    Ar. Rizal Ahmad Banjar
2.    Ar. Fong Kean Chong, Aaron
3.    Ar. Daniel Koh Chung Hou
4.    Ar. Yong Ming Cheong

5.    Ar. Mok Juang Yu

6.    Ar. Ooi Bee Yan, Noreen


The AGM adjourned at 1.20pm followed by lunch.

From Chairman & Committee Members

A CPD on the Principles of Designing for Fire Safety: Understanding the Prescriptions of the Uniform Building By-Laws 1984 was organized by the Chapter on 23rd July 2011 at PAM Mini Auditorium. The talk started at 9.30am and was attended by 57 participants comprising of architects and architectural graduates.

PAM Sabah Chapter CPD Chairman, Ar. Dr.Tan Jun Kwang welcomed all participants and introduced the speaker, Ar. Chong Lee Siong, MMIArbs, MIFireE for this seminar.

 The Fire Safety provisions of the Uniform Building By-Laws 1984 is often misconstrued to be restrictive and outdated in its scope, hence limiting architects’ flair and creativity in the realization of our design. However, the basic principles of designing for fire safety and the understanding of the characteristics of fire which is the basis of the formulation of the UBBL is still relevant today. This seminar presented the fundamental concepts of fire safety, interpreting the UBBL and the practical applications of the relevant fire safety codes in Architecture.

Ar. Lo Su Yin, Deputy Chairman of PAM Sabah Chapter presented a book gift – Architecture of Sabah: Resorts and Hotels to Ar. Chong Lee Siong. Vote of thanks is accorded to everyone present for making their valuable time to attend this informative seminar.The presentation ended at 1.00pm.

July 2021