Visited since 26/11/10
free counters
Visited times since Nov 30, 2010 (View My Stats)

PAM Sabah Chapter organized a CPD seminar on “Thermal Comfort House by Solar Powered Ventilation” held on Saturday, 17th September 2011 was attended by 32 participants comprising of architects and QS.

UMS Assoc. Prof. Dr. Chris Chu and his team of researchers demonstrated that by placing wiremesh (with very fine grid) over the outlet of a chimney, the air flow rate will increase drastically.  Other factors that will help include bringing in cold air using underground pipes; and make the upper part of the “chimney” in glass.  This finding could have wide implication to the way we design passive ventilation e.g. stack effect with warm air passage through the jack roof.

The presentation ended at 1.00pm after Q&A session with lunch.  Vote of thanks is accorded to everyone for making their valuable time attending the seminar and to Assoc. Professor Dr. Christopher Chu Chi Ming and his researchers team for the informative innovation.


Reported by :-
Ar. Mok Juang Yu


The recently concluded 36th PAM Annual Dinner was held at the Grand Ballroom of Shangri-La’s Tg Aru Resort in Kota Kinabalu. 450 guests including architects, engineers, quantity surveyors, suppliers and other members of the local built environment industries attended the institution’s yearly dinner event.

Our Guest of Honour YB Datuk V K Liew, Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department was present to grace the occasion.  PAM President, Ar. Saifuddin Ahmad, Sarawak Chapter Chairman, Ar. Peter Wong and Southern Chapter Chairman Ar. Hj. Zawawi Bin Zainuddin and spouse were also present.

The theme for this year’s dinner is “P”, PHENOMENOLOGY”.  “Phenomenology” is a unique architectural term concerning the built environment.  To simplify the idea of phenomenology, what is the relationship of a building with the surrounding context?  Phenomenology is important to continue a particular culture, the spirit of a community and the character of local precedents. Proponents of phenomenology believe that architecture should be created to fulfill the human needs without destroying the unique natural and genius loci.

The occasion witnessed the installation of the newly elected Chapter Chairman, Ar. Lo Su Yin and introduction of the 2011-2012 committee members.

The outgoing Chapter Chairman, Ar. Ho Jia Lit initiated setting up the “PAM Sabah Chapter’s Education scholarship Fund” by contributing RM7,000.00.

A music performance by the PAM Band led by Mr. Mitchell Bernard and performance by newly installed Chapter Chairman and his crew in a Sketch entitled "left side view of the 3C’s (Consultant, Contractor and Client)".

Prizes were given out to The Best Creative Office Photos and Guess the Architect.

Also one of the highlights of the evening was the Lucky "Fear Factor" Draw where lucky participants would compete to win three Ipad 2.

It was an entertaining and fun filled dinner where everybody left upon the end of the evening with a wide grin and gladness of having an umbrella for door gift, just in case it rained again.


36th Annual Dinner Photos

Reported by Ar. Rizal Ahmad Banjar


The 36th Annual General Meeting of PAM Sabah Chapter was held on 06th August 2011, Saturday at 10.0am at the Chapter Mini Auditorium. The AGM was attended by 48 corporate and 5 graduate members.

Ar. Lim Koi Hoe who was appointed as Election Officer earlier on, requested to nominate 2 scrutineers to assist in vote counting. The floor then nominated Ar. William CK Ho and Ar. Ronald SK Tang.


The election of the Chapter Committee was conducted in accordance with the PAM Constitution and Bye-Law where no floor nomination is allowed. This AGM was both interesting and exciting as there are two contests; for the post of Chairman and Vice Chairman. There were four nominations received at the close of nominations at 12.30 pm on 16th July 2011.


Two nominations were from Ar. Lo Su Yin and Dr. Tan Jun Kwang for the post of Chairman and another two nominations were from Ar. Jebb Liew and Ar. Arnold Kwan for the post of Vice Chairman.


Counting of votes was done by the Election Officer, Ar. Lim Koi Hoe and assisted by his deputy election officer, Ar. Chin Yin Tet and the 2 scrutinizers appointed when the AGM commenced at 10.15am.


The result was announced by the Election Officer, Ar. Lim Koi Hoe after the tea-break at 11.30am. Ar. Lo Su Yin was declared as the elected Chairman 2011-2012 with 38 votes against Ar. Dr. Tan Jun Kwang who only garnered 31 votes. Ar. Jebb Liew was declared as the elected vice chairman with 37 votes against Ar. Arnold Kwan who only garnered 29 votes.


After much debate on the issues of the eligibility of Ar. Lawrence Chin as the nominated Hon Treasurer at the special chapter committee meeting held on 27 July 2011, the election officer’s final decision decided to declare Ar. Lawrence Chin as the elected Hon Treasurer. Ar. William CK Ho was returned unopposed for the post as Hon Secretary.


The 6 Chapter Committee members who were nominated and won un-contested were:-

1.    Ar. Rizal Ahmad Banjar
2.    Ar. Fong Kean Chong, Aaron
3.    Ar. Daniel Koh Chung Hou
4.    Ar. Yong Ming Cheong

5.    Ar. Mok Juang Yu

6.    Ar. Ooi Bee Yan, Noreen


The AGM adjourned at 1.20pm followed by lunch.

October 2021